Skip to main content

NI Road Safety Champions Honoured

Northern Ireland’s road safety champions were officially recognised today (Friday 25th November, 2016) for their contribution to helping reduce the incidence of death and injury on our roads.

Among the winners recognised for their work at Northern Ireland’s Road Safety Awards 2016 included individuals, organisations and special projects from across the business, voluntary, education, emergency service and public sectors.

Peye 251116mm001_003

Supported by Road Safe NI and sponsored by leading accident management specialist, CRASH Services, a total of 16 awards were presented across 10 categories at a prestigious event attended by more than 140 specially-invited guests at Cultra Manor, Holywood.

Winning the distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award, after a dedicated 50 years of service and commitment to road safety, was Belfast’s Pat Martin. Pat established one of the first ‘Tufty’ clubs in 1966 which kicked off a lifelong career to help save lives.

Pat Martin said: “It’s a privilege to be recognised. When I set up a Tufty club in Carnmoney Primary School, Newtownabbey, I wanted to ensure that children were safe road users. The road safety messages taught in the sixties are still relevant today and it’s vitally important for kids to learn them. I’m also very grateful for all the support I was given by my school and by all the road safety education officers over the years.”

After helping to form the Newtownabbey Road Safety Committee, as secretary, Pat has acted as Chair for many years and has only recently retired as Chair of Road Safe NI – formerly known as the Road Safety Council of Northern Ireland – after eight years of service.

Tony McKeown, Sales & Marketing Director at CRASH Services, said: “The number of strong entries received this year has been fantastic, demonstrating the depth, breadth and scale of work already taking place which promotes road safety in Northern Ireland. It is a real honour for us to play a pivotal role in making sure that the dedication, commitment and hard work that goes into keeping our roads safe is properly recognised.”

PEYE Crash 001

Winners across the various categories included Ballyclare PS and Seaview PS & Nursery Unit (Primary School), Abbey Christian Brothers’ Grammar School, Newry and Saint Comhghall’s College, Lisnaskea (Secondary School), JJ Doherty (Driving Instructor), Sharon Maculey (Emergency Services), Ulster GAA, Havern Hughes Sloan, North Down & Ards Road Safety Committee and Charlie Stewart (Voluntary Sector), RADAR (Public Sector), Coca-Cola HBC Ireland and Northern Ireland (Business), PSNI Bike (Motorcycle), Sustrans and See.Sense (Cycling) and Pat Martin (Lifetime Achievement).

Tony McKeown added: “Those recognised with an award reflect the value of educating all road users, but particularly vulnerable groups like pedestrians, young drivers, cyclists and motorcyclists and we hope that others will be inspired by the work of the winners. I congratulate everyone for their extraordinary commitment to road safety and to Pat Martin for dedicating her life for the benefit of others.”

Further details of each of these projects and details can be found at

Category sponsors included Abbey Centre, New Driver NI, Hankook Tyres, Applegreen, JMK Solicitors, Green Motion car and van rental, AA Drive Tech and Business Compliance Solutions.

Translate »