Skip to main content
6. Hugh McIlhatton, Disability Action, collects the Lifetime Achievement Award from Paul Cooney of CRASH Services and Frank Mitchell

NI Road Safety champions 2017.

The winners at Northern Ireland’s Road Safety Awards 2017 included individuals, organisations and special projects from across the voluntary, education, emergency service, public and Business sectors.

The NI Road Safery Awards 2017, now in their third year, are organised by Road Safe NI and sponsored by leading accident management specialist, CRASH Services.  A total of 16 awards were presented at a lunchtime event attended by more than 120 specially invited guests at Cultra Manor, Holywood.

Winning the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award was Hugh McIIhatton from Disability Action.  Hugh commented “Every day I see the benefit of supporting people learning to drive or re-training after acquiring a disability.   I see the difference it can make to people’s lives.  One of the best things about my job is supporting someone to realise that they can drive when they thought it wasn’t possible.  Road safety is core to what we do.  But ultimately I hope that the legacy of my work will be that society sees more disabled people out and about in their communities and enjoying the freedom that driving brings”.

Davy Jackson from Road Safe NI said “We had a fantastic response to the awards again, with a record number of entries.   We are delighted to play our part in recognising those who go the extra mile to promote road safety.   The winning entries really stood out for their commitment over a long period of time and for delivering innovative projects. 

“There is so much good work going on across our schools, local communities, emergency services and businesses.  The award winners are an inspiration to others and they is no question their efforts are saving lives on the road. 

Tony McKeown, Sales & Marketing Director at CRASH Services, said: “As a business with close connections to road users we are honoured to support the NI Road Safety Awards once again.  We congratulate everyone for their extraordinary commitment to road safety.


Winners across the various categories included St.Brigid’s PS, Mayogall and St. Aloysius PS, Lisburn (Primary School), Mark Kipling, Harding Memorial PS, Belfast (Lollipop Person), Loreto Grammar School, Omagh (Secondary School), Jim Doyle (Driving Instructor), Sammy Nicholl, Roy McAllister and Constable Sue Wright (Emergency Services), Guy Thomson and Life After (Voluntary Sector), Woodside Motor Freight and Group (LGV), NFU Mutual (Business), BBC Northern Ireland – CRASH (Media), Close Pass/ See the Cyclist and Sustrans (Two Wheels) and Hugh McIlhatton (Lifetime Achievement).  

There were also 13 highly commended entries who will each receive a framed certificate. 


Category sponsors included Abbey Centre, U105, New Driver NI, Hankook Tyres, Applegreen, JMK Solicitors and Drive Tech.

Translate »